School and work

School

In Germany, every child has to attend school. Compulsory education usually starts at the age of 6 and ends at the age of 18. As parents, you are responsible for ensuring that your child attends school.

To determine whether your child is ready to start school, the local public health department will invite you to a "school entrance examination". If you are given the green light, you can go ahead and enrol your child at a primary school of your choice. You will find an overview of all schools under the heading "School Profile".

In Germany, all children start off by attending primary school. Here they acquire basic knowledge, learning methods and social skills. Afterwards, they change to a secondary school. There are various types of secondary schools. You will find more information on this under the heading "The school system in Schleswig-Holstein“

How long will my child be at school every day? This can vary. Children are usually cared for until 13:00. Some primary schools and many secondary schools also offer afternoon care. You will find more information here.

My child does not speak any German yet! There are special DaZ ("Deutsch als Zweitsprache" / German as a second language) classes for children and youths who do not speak any or insufficient German. Here they are given intensive German lessons until they can attend classes in German. The Education Authority will explain this in more detail.

Education

Germany offers many possibilities to prepare for a profession after completing school:

  • on-the-job professional education (e.g. electronic engineer or industrial clerk) in a company (practical) and vocational school (theory)
  • scholastic vocational education at a technical college (e.g. educator)
  • study at a University of Applied Sciences or a University
  • dual studies with a combination of study and vocational education
  • You will find additional information on this subject under the heading "Vocational Training in Germany" [Link]
Profession

To find a job in Germany, a professional or academic education is very important. Would you like to have your education recognised in Germany? You will find additional references here [link to recognition of foreign qualifications]

You will also require a basic knowledge of German. You will find information on languages courses under "Language Courses".

More information on how to find work and what to take bear in mind when doing so can be found in the section "Work and Social".

Schule und Beruf

Schule

In Deutschland müssen alle Kinder zur Schule gehen. Die Schulpflicht beginnt in der Regel mit dem 6. und endet mit dem 18. Lebensjahr. Sie als Eltern sind dafür verantwortlich, dass Ihr Kind die Schule besucht.

Um festzustellen, ob ihr Kind schon bereit für die Schule ist, werden Sie vom Gesundheitsamt zur einer „Schuleingangsuntersuchung“ eingeladen. Alles in Ordnung? Dann können Sie Ihr Kind an einer Grundschule Ihrer Wahl anmelden. Eine Übersicht aller Schulen finden Sie unter dem Punkt „Schulprofile“.

In Deutschland besuchen alle Kinder zunächst die Grundschule. Hier erwerben sie grundlegende Kenntnisse, Lernmethoden und soziale Fähigkeiten. Danach wechseln sie auf eine weiterführende Schule. Es gibt unterschiedliche weiterführende Schularten. Näheres erfahren Sie unter dem Punkt „Schulsystem in Schleswig-Holstein“.

Wie lange bleiben die Kinder in der Schule? Das ist unterschiedlich. Die meisten Grundschulen sind „verlässlich“. Das bedeutet: Die Kinder werden in der Regel bis 13 Uhr in der Schule betreut. Einige Grundschulen und viele weiterführende Schulen bieten auch eine Betreuung am Nachmittag an. Mehr erfahren sie hier.

Mein Kind spricht noch kein Deutsch! Für Kinder und Jugendliche, die noch kein oder nur wenig Deutsch sprechen, gibt es spezielle DaZ-Klassen („Deutsch als Zweitsprache“). Hier lernen sie so lange intensiv Deutsch, bis sie an deutschsprachigem Unterricht teilnehmen können. Das Schulamt erklärt Ihnen mehr.

Ausbildung

Nach der Schule gibt es in Deutschland mehrere Möglichkeiten, sich auf einen Beruf vorzubereiten:

  • betriebliche Berufsausbildung (z.B. Elektroniker oder Industriekaufmann) in einem Unternehmen (praktisch) und der Berufsschule (theoretisch)

  • schulische Berufsausbildung in einer Fachschule (z.B. Erzieher/-in)

  • Studium an einer Fachhochschule oder Universität

  • duales Studium mit einer Kombination aus Studium und Berufsausbildung

Weitere Informationen zum Thema finden Sie unter dem Punkt „Berufsausbildung in Deutschland“.

Beruf

Eine berufliche oder akademische Ausbildung ist in Deutschland sehr wichtig, um eine Arbeit zu finden. Sie möchten Ihre Ausbildung in Deutschland anerkennen lassen? Weitere Hinweise finden Sie hier.

Auch benötigen Sie grundlegende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache. Informationen zu Sprachkursen finden Sie unter dem Punkt „Sprachkurse“.

Wie Sie Arbeit finden und was dabei zu beachten ist, erfahren Sie in der Rubrik „Arbeit und Soziales“.